What is Chkconfig in Ubuntu?

What is Chkconfig used for?

chkconfig command is used to list all available services and view or update their run level settings. In simple words it is used to list current startup information of services or any particular service, updating runlevel settings of service and adding or removing service from management.

What is run level in Chkconfig?

The chkconfig tool is used in RedHat based systems (like CentOS) to control what services are started at which runlevels. Running the command chkconfig –list will display a list of services whether they are enabled or disabled for each runlevel.

What is sbin Chkconfig?

The command line tool chkconfig (usually located in /sbin) can be used to list and configure which services get started at boot time. To list all service settings run the following command: /sbin/chkconfig –list. This will display a long list of services showing whether or not they are started up at various runlevels.

How do I check Chkconfig?

There are 7 run level defined in Linux.

  1. 0 – Shut down the System. …
  2. -v : to check the version of chkconfig command.
  3. –list : to list all the services managed under chkconfig.
  4. –level : Specify init run level from 0 to 6.
  5. –add : this option will add the service under chkconfig management.
THIS IS INTERESTING:  How do I run VNC on Linux?

What are the different runlevels?

Runlevels 2 to 5 are different depending upon the Linux distribution in use. Only one runlevel is executed when the system is booted.


Runlevel 0 shuts down the system
Runlevel 1 single-user mode
Runlevel 2 multi-user mode without networking
Runlevel 3 multi-user mode with networking
Runlevel 4 user-definable

Which option is used with Chkconfig Mcq?

Description – The chkconfig tool is used from the command line while ntsysv provides a menu interface.

How do you ping on Linux?

Click or double-click the Terminal app icon—which resembles a black box with a white “>_” in it—or press Ctrl + Alt + T at the same time. Type in the “ping” command. Type in ping followed by the web address or IP address of the website you want to ping.

Why runlevel 4 is unused in Linux?

Slackware Linux

ID Description
2 Unused but configured the same as runlevel 3
3 Multi-user mode without display manager
4 Multi-user mode with display manager (X11 or a session manager)
5 Full mode

How do I know my run level?

Linux Changing Run Levels

  1. Linux Find Out Current Run Level Command. Type the following command: $ who -r. …
  2. Linux Change Run Level Command. Use the init command to change rune levels: # init 1.
  3. Runlevel And Its Usage. The Init is the parent of all processes with PID # 1.

How does etc init D work?

Specifically, files in /etc/init. d are shell scripts that respond to start , stop , restart , and (when supported) reload commands to manage a particular service. These scripts can be invoked directly or (most commonly) via some other trigger (typically the presence of a symbolic link in /etc/rc?. d/ ).

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What are different types of Linux?